teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Springtime Cuteness…

Leave a comment

Well, it was warm last week and one day even got up to 80 F which was balmy.  Now this week it’s a bit chillier again(60’s) and last night it rained all night.  I woke up thinking that Los Angeles would be a bit greener today from the rainfall and I felt like it was Spring.  Nothing says spring quite like baby hedgehogs(hoglets) and bunnies.

 

hoglet and bunny contrast 1

The bunny is made of a nice mint green faux fur and for her shirt I used vintage fabric.  This flowery fabric is from the late 60’s/early 70’s and reminds me of something that Marsha Brady would have worn.  I got the fabric new from a Silverlake art/craft/vintage show that I was in last year.  It was a couple yards of never used fabric that the woman got from an estate sale.  Such a great find!

bunny contrast front

The hoglet has neon glasses which I love.  I’d like to have a pair of those bright pink glasses for myself.

hoglet contrast standing

Today I am working on a lion and another hoglet.  I’m off to go for a walk and stop by Tweak to see how my gang of softies are doing there.

Oh and if you are into movies, I just saw “Safety Not Guaranteed” with Jake Johnson, Aubrey Plaza and Mark Duplass and I thought it was great!  Check it out.

Yours in crafting,

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a comment