teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Studio Envy…

Leave a comment

Yesterday my husband and I did a big cleaning of the apartment.  Lots of scrubbing of walls and vacuuming into deep corners etc.  There is a great sense of relief and calm that follows a deep clean.  I spent most of the day organizing my craft cupboard and purging bags of scrap material, wool felt and just general craft things that I didn’t need or use anymore.  It took hours of spreading it all out and scrutinizing over each bit to make sure I wouldn’t be using it.  I am quite proud of my efforts and can breathe with a sense of extra ease.  Our apartment is from the early sixties and on the smallish side and  our hallway to the bedroom can be closed off as a separate room called a dressing hall.  So, although we have a lot of cupboard space, I have one small closet that is designated for my craft supplies.  You see, I don’t have a sewing studio, I am portable.  When I wish to make something, I have to pull everything out of the closet that I need.  Here is a photo.

cupboard bright

I apologize for my husband’s shoes.  Here is a close-up.

cupboard bright close up

So, considering my lack of space, I’m sure you can imagine just how unruly this cupboard can become!

I have to admit that I have studio envy at times.  When I am reading one of my favorite blogs and there is a studio space snapshot, I feel my skin fading to a dull green.  There is even  a magazine all about studio spaces, but I don’t have the nerve or the stomach to pick it up.  So, for now I just dream of a studio space to call my own.   Maybe I should form a support group for all of the crafters lacking a studio space.  We’ll call it – LSSA.  Lack of Studio Space Anonymous.

In other news, I finished a giant Koala.  He is quite precious and the size of a toddler.

large koala 1

My favorite part about him/her are the shoes.

large koala feet 3

I had better go as today is a day for bunnies and bears.  Here is one more…

large koala 2

Yours in crafting,

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

