teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Pemberton Sasquatch is here!

Leave a comment

I haven’t made a Bigfoot for at least a year, and I decided to make one again.  Sasquatch are super fun and I named this one Pemberton.

pemberton sasquatch 4

I named him after Pemberton, British Columbia which is 20 minutes north of my old hometown of Whistler, B.C.  Canada.

pemberton sasquatch 6

Here is a true and somewhat humorous story about Bigfoot.

About 4 years ago, I had gallstones and had to have my gallbladder removed.  The surgery was supposed to be a day surgery, but the doctor said that my anatomy was complicated and that they had to fully cut me open because laproscopic wasn’t possible.  And so, I found myself mentally unprepared for a hospital stay of five days at Squamish General.  I don’t really have any good memories of this experience.  It was painful, monotonous and drab.  I did however have an aboriginal roomate patient.  I think her name was Sheila and she was elderly and sick. Aboriginals are the Canadian equivalent of Native Americans.   When she wasn’t complaining about being sick, we had some interesting conversations.  Keep in mind that we were both heavily medicated with pain medication, so a few of these chats were definitely “out there”.   The 2010 Winter Olympics were only a few months away and the nurse had left us a copy of the newspaper which had a picture of my favorite furry mascot, “Quatchi” the Sasquatch.  Maybe it was the morphine jogging through  my veins, or my absolute boredom, but I asked Sheila what her community at the Reservation where she lived thought of Sasquatches?  She very non-chalantly went into her experiences with Bigfoot.  She said that her and her tribe had definitely seen them and that they were constantly around her property at night.  She said that they had many different noises that they made and that even though they tried to remain hidden from human sight, sometimes you could smell them, as they had a strong and pungent aroma.  To Sheila, Bigfoot were as real as a deer, or a mountain lion.  Our conversation was fascinating and has stuck in my memory.  The next evening, at around 10pm, a Vancouver medicine man entered out room and sang songs and waved an eagle feather around as part of a healing ritual.  Sheila told me that I was one of the only white people to witness this ritual.

So, I have named my Sasquatch Pemberton after the town next to Sheila’s reservation, Mt. Currie.

pemberton sasquatch 3

Whether you believe in Sasquatches or not is another story, but I hope you enjoy Pemberton and his giant, furry feet!

pemberton sasquatch 5

Yours in crafting,

 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

