teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Sunday, Windy Sunday…

Leave a comment

It’s quite windy here today in Los Angeles and not a typically warm and sunny day either.  Before the weekend, we had a two day heat wave where it was between 90F and 95F.(30C – 33)  It’s supposed to rain later today or tomorrow, so it’s windy and grey today.  This, however is perfect weather for sewing and crafting.  I just listened to the Moth radio hour and was particularly interested in a story told by DMC (yes from Run DMC) and his bout with feelings of suicide and how listening to Sarah McLaughlin helped him to cope.  Very touching.  Now I am listening to some KCRW and doing some hand embroidery.

I finished these two lions and I quite like them.  I’m trying to make lots of things for a few big summer craft shows that I am hoping to get into.

lion buddies

The lion with the triangles is my favorite.  He makes me smile.

lion close up

Here is one more.  A lion totem!

totem lions bright

I downloaded some photos from my phone, but they are not great quality because my husband (who is the operations manager of a camera store) says that you buy a phone for the phone, not for the camera.

Anyway, I went on a hike yesterday into the Hollywood Hills, just above our place and I ended up hiking for three hours.  I slept quite well last night!  I feel pretty lucky to have access to beautiful hikes that are literally right in my backyard, so here are a few mediocre photos from yesterday’s hike.

cell phone 908

In the above photo, I hiked up and over to the edge of Runyon Canyon and the vista was very pretty.

cell phone 949

This was some beautiful bougainvaillea which is stunning at this time of year, here in L.A.

cell phone 956

This one is from my Instagram.  If you look closely, you can see downtown L.A. in the distance.

cell phone 952

A neat house up very high in the hills.  This is pretty much at the top!

cell phone 930

And finally, this gate looks like it belongs in a secret headquarters of an X-Men movie.  I have to say that photos do not seem to do the the architecture and grandiosity of these places justice.  You really do need to see them in person to be totally blown away.

Okay, and now back to sewing… Yours in crafting…

 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

