teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Time Flies!

1 Comment

Well, I knew that I hadn’t blogged for awhile, but I can’t believe that I went two weeks without blogging.  I am trying to think of where all of the time went?  I had a few nice visits from Canadian friends.  B made us a nice brunch and we caught up.  My other friend that was visiting wanted to see the ocean, so we made our way to Santa Monica and rented cruiser bikes to ride up and down the beaches!  That was fun.  It’s great when people come to visit because I get to see Los Angeles through their eyes.

I was going to get back to blogging last week, then the Boston Marathon bombing happened and it spoiled the mood for me.  That was upsetting for obvious reasons and I decided to stay silent for a bit.  It really made me think about my life and just how precious it is.  I think the  thing that was the most upsetting is that the people who were hurt were there to support their friends and family and were being completely unselfish when the bomb went off.  Then it made me think about Los Angeles and how many times I am in a crowd, doing something fun, when something sickening like that could happen.  Anyway, on to happier things…

I have been sewing a lot and here are a few things that I have been working on…

First, I have been making cats and dogs.  Although, I prefer making raccoons, lions and hedgehogs, I realize that dogs and cats are quite popular.  And I actually surprised myself with how fun they were to make.

superfriendz and dog and cat 009

The cat is my favorite, although I love the dog’s eye patch also.  He’s a mutt.

My most recent project were these two SuperRaccoons.  I just got this fur from International Silks and Woolens which is a 40 year old family business here in West Hollywood.  This brown fur is super soft and easy to work with.

superfriendz close

They have capes and possess the ability to fly.

superfriendz and dog and cat 010

And finally, I have some exciting news!  (not really) I have graduated onto my first box of 10lb stuffing!  This thing is monstrous, but much needed!  superfriendz and dog and cat 008

 

I hope that you all had a nice Earth Day.  I hiked a trail on the valley side of Laurel Canyon and it took me to the Coldwater Canyon Park and the Tree People and was quite beautiful.

Now, I must run and get to yoga!

Yours in crafting,

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

One thought on “Time Flies!

  1. I love the puppy and kitty they are so cute

Leave a Reply

