teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Post-Craftcation…

5 Comments

Well, it was a wonderful trip to Ventura for the Conference for Makers, Craftcation.  The silliest thing is that I forgot my camera, so I don’t have any photos to share today, but I will work on pulling them from my phone this week.  My phone is out of order today 😦

Anyway,it  is kind of difficult to describe my experience at Craftcation  because my brain is completely overwhelmed with information and tips and all of that is just swirling around in my head!  What I will say is that Ventura is very beautiful and the Crowne Plaza where we stayed is RIGHT on the ocean which is great!  I didn’t actually experience much Rest and Relaxation because I was running around and trying to not let my brain explode with knowledge.

I took seminars on various topics such as SEO optimization, effective blogging, branding, how to format and publish a pattern, how to teach my craft, WordPress, optimizing my blog following etc.  I took many notes and there is a lot I need to improve and think about now.

They told us to bring a sample of our craft, so I was always walking around with a softie poking out of my bag, and that gave them a lot of attention.  I brought some extras because I knew that some people would want to purchase them and was quite touched with the amount of love they received.  It reminded me that I am doing what I love and putting full effort into it and I am appreciated for that.  I need to thank Angie, Lindsay, Heather and Kelly from SuperBuzzy  for their support!  Especially Angie who made off with three of my softies this weekend, including Fergus the SuperRaccoon.

Fergus the SuperRaccoon

Fergus also had a rainbow sweatband on, that I had added for the conference so that he could be my true SuperRaccoon companion!  Fergus is all to SanFrancisco and I am happy for him to be in such loving company.  Ingmar the Hedgehog is also off to San Fran and I’m sure he’ll enjoy it there!

hoglet contrast sitting g

I met some really great and crafty people and I felt less “alone” when it comes to having my small business.  I received support and validation, and learned that it is truly important to take my talents and to do what I love.  I hope to keep in touch with many of the other artists that I met and I hope that we can help each other to be accountable.  There are going to be some changes.  Not to my work, but maybe to this site and with my shop etc.

My friend Polly  of PollyAnnaCowgirl also wrote a great blog post about Craftcation, and there is even a nice little photo of me with Fergus the SuperRaccoon and so you should most definitely check it out!

 

Again I apologize for not having photos of the conference, but if you are really interested, we had a pro-photographer shoot the whole thing and he is going to have all of the photos up on his website in the next week.  His site is Matthew Williams Photography and there should be some good ones up there. Just go to his site, click on clients and then on Craftcation.  He says they will be up soon.   As I mentioned earlier, my phone is on the brink and I don’t even have it today for Instagram.  This will be good because I am working on a custom commission and I don’t need the distraction, however pleasant.

Okay, I need to go and be productive now,

Yours in crafting,

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

5 thoughts on “Post-Craftcation…

  1. I friggin LOVE fergus. He keeps my bed free from evil and watches over it during the when I am at work. Ingmar is In his new home with my friend Wendy and doing things like, using a typewriter and watching movies on a Betamax

    Sampson is waiting to go to his new home soon!

    Thanks so much for doing what you do! You have an insane talent and I can’t wait to see what else you make!

  2. My sentiments exactly! My brain is still on overload, but in the best way possible. Good luck moving forward! Keep up the fabulous work!

  3. Jenny – It was so great to meet you. I had a wonderful time at Craftcation and I’m so glad we connected. Can’t wait to meet up in New England.

Leave a Reply

