teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Good day for a bike ride!

Leave a comment

I biked to Larchmont Village today.  It’s just past Hancock Park area.It’s only 4 miles away.    I love discovering new little pockets in Los Angeles and this one was fun.  I went to Cafe Gratitude for lunch.  This is a well known vegan restaurant and I have been meaning to go.  It was a little nicer inside than I thought it was going to be and I was a bit embarassed when the hostess seated me because I was a bit of a sweaty mess from biking there.  I had the most amazing wrap called the I am Guapo.  Here is a description…Our Mexican torta sandwich on grilled Panini bread with pureed black beans, cashew nacho cheese, spicy red pepper sauce, crispy chipotle-maple coconut, romaine lettuce, tomato and avocado. I substituted the bread with a raw tomato wrap that was completely delicious.  I have to say that it was one of the best meals I have ever had!  There was big pieces of coconut that seemed almost meaty.  I feel so great after eating it.  I can’t wait to go back!

Sorry I didn’t take photos.  I didn’t want to bring my camera on my bike and I am a week away from a new smartphone.  I also went to Babycakes which is a vegan, gluten free bakery.  I managed to cycle all the way home without ruining the two red velvet cupcakes on the back of my bike.  We will try them later.

My sewing machine is on the blitz.  It has served me very well for two years and because it’s not industrial, it may have just run it’s course.  I have to decide it it’s worth getting fixed, or if it’s better to just invest in a new machine.  I managed to finish these two 19 inch softies before my machine totally misbehaved.  They may be going to a prop house if things go well for them.

purple bear and hoglet 19 inches 001

I am glad they made it through the torture of my deranged sewing machine.

purple bear and hoglet 19 inches 002

I love this new purple fur.  It’s really soft.

purple bear and hoglet 19 inches 003

Thanks for stopping by,     Yours in crafting,

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

