teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

It’s still raining and I’m still sewing…

Leave a comment

I have been a busy Santa’s Little Helper making softies for the holiday season.  My foxes are my most recent creation and they are not stuffed yet.  moca softies batch 2 001

I love the dark, shiny fox faux fur!  It’s from France.

Next is a cute bunny that happens to look a little Christmas-like, but it was not intentional.  He happens to have peppermints on his shirt, which might be associated with Christmas, but can be enjoyed anytime of the year.

moca softies batch 2 007

I love the tiny red and white polka dots.

I made a gerbil-like critter for my niece for Christmas.  I included an elasticized skirt that she can take on and off as she is not even two years old and is just learning about dress-up.  I love the monster-like qualities of this critter.  moca softies batch 2 012

I love Polar Bears.  They are my favorite animal.  This little chap is a handsome polar bear with his big pink collar.  moca softies batch 2 016

This lion has a very scholarly appearance.  moca softies batch 2 024

A blog that I enjoy that is written by another Plush Artist, Abby Glassenberg “While She Naps”,  had a free pattern for a Christmas pickle.  I made it yesterday and I find it quite interesting how different mine looks from hers.  It says to me that everyone’s creativity is so different and unique and we have special ways of expressing ourselves.  Here is a photo of my Christmas Pickle, an early Christmas gift to my husband.

Christmas pickle 002

It was fun to make and I made a few changes to better suit my skills.  Cheers to Abby for the french knot which proved too difficult for me.  I just embroidered dimples instead.  Here is a link to the free pattern.  And even if you don’t wish to take it on, it will lead you to a wikipedia about Yuletide pickles and you can see her original and adorable pickle design.

Link to Abby Glassenberg’s Christmas Pickle

Christmas pickle 005

Yours in crafting,

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

