teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Seattle and Plush You!

2 Comments

 

This weekend I was in Seattle for the Plush You!  show at Schmancy Toys.  Kristen was great and it was fun to see her shop and meet some of the other artists who attended.  The world of plush and softies etc is so small still, so it’s really great to connect with others who really “get” what it is I am doing every day.  I got to ask people about their processes and I learned a few new things.  Mostly, I learned that everyone has such a unique sewing style.

 

There were a few plushes that really stood out and it was interesting to note that all of the artists that were  there, we all had different favorites.  I was very drawn to Andapanda from Spain.  I love this anteater.  His tail was very nice and soft.  This little guy in a paper bag also really spoke to me…I apologize but I don’t know the name of this artist, although I do see from the tag that they are from Wisconsin.  One of my plush, (Liesel the Lion with Boombox) was already sold and off to a loving home, but Fergus the Raccoon and Fulton the Fox remained and were busy making friends from far away places!  The doll to the left was made by my new friend Rachel Linquist who drove down to Seattle from Idaho.  Rowan from Out of the Frame Amigurimi was another friend that I made.  She and her husband are british, but are currently living in Bosnia for work.  They incorporated Seattle into their vacation to stop in for Plush You.  Here are two of her pieces…I also got to meet Anges from Betty Turbo and she was really sweet!  She makes these great pillow type softies out of her art which she prints onto fabric.  Her pieces are in the box on the left.  This basket of Petal People by Olbapi from Portland make me very happy!  I will leave you with a few more random Plush You! photos, but I realize that I am going to have to do a Seattle part 2 tomorrow, because I have lots of sewing to do today!  Enjoy! Yours in crafting, 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

2 thoughts on “Seattle and Plush You!

  1. So great meeting you, Jenny! I had a blast, and I love the pictures you posted, because now I can relive the fun! 😉 I look forward to following your blog!

  2. Awesome pictures! Makes me wish I could have been there even more!!

Leave a Reply

