teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Monster Republic…

1 Comment

I am working on some pieces for a gallery show in Hollywood.  The show is called “Under The Bed” and the premise is what scared you as a child, such as things hiding under the bed.  For me it was monsters.  I used to have nightmares about being outside at night and being chased by big, clothed monsters in sneakers.  They would chase me and I would try to run home and hide in my house.  The monsters were life sized in my dream and they looked like a cross between a Maurice Sendak monster and a muppet.  So, these two have come out of my childhood imagination.  These have been really fun to make.  The brown monster is wearing a wool tuxedo with sneakers, and the pink monster is wearing his best hipster suspenders with cordouroy and sneakers.  They both have special glow in the dark eyes.  I still have to sew up their stuffing holes.  I can’t decide which one I like best, but I am leaning towards the pink monster.  Liz Scott sent me the wonderful light blue vintage cordouroy and I think it’s perfect.  I used her fabric(domestic bliss) for the shirt so it would match.

Okay, I had better sew these guys up by their stuffing openings.  Yours in crafting…

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

One thought on “Monster Republic…

Leave a Reply

