teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Sew Happy!

Leave a comment

I have recently returned from a week and a half long trip to Massachusetts.  First we went to my sister’s new place in Florence, a suburb of Northampton in Western Mass.  It was great to see my family and spend some time with my niece  and nephew.

Then we were off to Grafton/Westborough/Worcester to visit my husband’s hometown and friends.  We celebrated my husband’s birthday at the Lucky Dog in Worcester, and saw a band called the Curtain Society that my husband used to manage and has been friends with for years.

We had some great food at the Grafton Inn and got ready for StART on the Street,  Massachusetts biggest Arts and Music Festival, where I had a table.  I brought about 23 pieces and at the end of the day, I was left with 3, I guess I did alright.  Here is what my table looked like near the end…I kept apologizing to people because my table was so empty by the end, but it didn’t deter them at all.  My favorite sale by far, went to this little guy who seemed to be enjoying this fox.  I am pretty sure that this fox went to a loving home!

After visiting with some of my husband’s friends and his sister’s family, I headed back to Northampton for 3 more days with my family and father who drove down from Toronto.

Northampton is described by many as the Berkeley of the east coast, with lots of alternative shops and restaurants and even a nice food co-op.  I had the best apple I’ve had in years there and lots of great food.  We went to Paul and Elizabeth’s one night for dinner and it was wonderful.  It was a health food restaurant, but with a delicious twist, this place had fish dishes on the menu.  I had the best scallops of my life there.  They were teriyaki grilled with a side of brown rice.  Delicious!  I also discovered Webb’s, a wool/yarn store which would be any knitters dream shop, with a huge variety of supplies.  I’m not really a knitter, but a few days later, I discovered my mecca in Easthampton, the next town over.  I found New England Felting Supply.  I was seriously in heaven!  I love to needlefelt and this place was packed with all the colors of wool roving that you could possibly imagine.  I loaded up on supplies and even got a book.  I liked this wall mural in Easthampton.  I didn’t think my crafting dreams could get any better, but  the next day took a surprising turn for the best.  I was walking around the corner from my sister’s place in Florence to go to the local day spa for a haircut.  I noticed a small shop called Wool and Dye Works and when I stopped by after my appointment, I was in wool felt heaven!  This place is described as a rug making and wool craft supply shop and the shelves were full of beautiful rolls of thick wool fabrics, mostly plaids and tweeds.  She also had a shelf full of recycled wool material, salvaged from old sweaters and pants etc.  I picked up some  fabrics and will be sure to use them in some of my softies.

I got home on Friday night and I was sure happy to be reunited with Reg the cat again!  Also, I was happy to come back to sunny, summery West Hollywood.

Now I am happily sewing and working on some commissions and a few gallery pieces for an art show about scary things.  Here is a sneak peek of a monster that I am working on.  The finished monster will be wearing a wool plaid tuxedo and some cool sneakers.  His eyes aren’t what I usually work with, but these ones glow in the dark, which I thought would be very monster-like.

Okay, I must get back to crafting now and being “sew Happy”   Yours in crafting…

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

