teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Portland Pt. 2…

Leave a comment

Finally, it’s been almost 3 weeks since we went to Portland and I chopped my blog into two and now I am able to share part two with you!

Portland has these cool, antique water fountains all around town.  Back in the old days, there was nowhere for workers to get water to drink, and a philanthropist put them in to prevent the workers from taking too many beer breaks to quench their thirst.  I didn’t get to drink out of them because when we were there, there was an e-coli scare and we were advised not to.  This was a bike sculpture downtown.  There are lots of events that involve bicycles.  I guess that’s expected being that it’s the bike capital of America.  Probably one of my favorite things that I did in Portland was visit the Saturday Farmer’s Market at P.S.U.  campus.  It was the biggest one that I have ever been to, with lots of food, produce and flowers.  I spent over 3 hours there.  I had breakfast, then walked around and got lunch to go because everything was so good.  This band were so enthralling.  They were singing and chanting and playing exotic instruments.  I didn’t catch who they were, but it felt very buddhist and calm.

For breakfast I had a raspberry/peach empenada and a raspberry apple cider.  It was delicious!  There were these recycling and trash stations everywhere and it made me giggle a little bit because there is a skit about them on Portlandia, the t.v. show where they take Portland’s ammenities and lightly make fun of  them.  That night, Barry’s conference treated us to a dinner and free roam of the OMSI.(Oregon Museum of Science and Technology.  It was much like a science center, but with more machinery based exhibits.  The best part was the submarine.  it was parked outside on the river and was used in the Hunt for Red October.  It was great to board the ship and walk around.  It had torpedoes and everything.  I can’t believe that it can fit 77 crew in such tight quarters.  This is a view of the Portland harbor through the submarine’s periscope.  On our last day in Portland, we stumbled upon a sand sculpture contest.  It was really great and had some very impressive sculptures.  This one was very funny!  The Lorax was very cool!  This tree was probably the best one.  I can’t wait to go back to Portland!  Did you know that they have over 700 food trucks and carts?  That’s a lot!  So much food to try, so little time!  So long Portland, until we meet again…

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

