teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

An End to a Crafty Weekend!

4 Comments

Well, I just spend two days as a vendor at Renegade L.A.  Craft Fair.  It was held at a beautiful location in downtown Los Angeles in a large field called the Los Angeles State Historic Park.  We had very hot and sunny weather to contend with, but despite the high heat, there was a lot of fun to be had.  This photo was taken with my lomo camera with fisheye.  I didn’t get much opportunity to leave my booth, but I strolled around a few times and caught some of the other vendors art.  There was a lot of high quality items and many things that I would have liked, but I mostly stood on guard at my booth and chatted with people.  I met so many great people and received some wonderful feedback from them.  I also made a few really great connections.  One with with a store that I will hopefully be getting my plush into, another was a gallery owner who was very interested in selling my jointed faux-fur bears, and another was with a studio rental company, who would like to rent out my plush to film and television prop-masters as background pieces.  My most favorite customer was a very sweet lady named Pamela Ko.  She said that she saw my plush online and came to Renegade looking for me, to buy my plush.  She picked out some of her favorites and I enjoyed her so much, I wouldn’t let her leave without a hug!  So, Pamela, if you read this…. thanks again and your copy of Stuffed Magazine is in the mail!  This photo did not come out well, but I wanted to show you how a few of my softies were swinging on swings all day at the back of the canopy.  Thanks for the great idea Mary!  And speaking of Mary, my booth-mate at Renegade, she had some great items for sale, such as organic, fair-trade, screen printed bags, cards, postcards and prints, along with handmade organic baby bibs, eye pillows and journals.  marylundquist.com

I also wanted to say one more thank you to the couple who purchased SuperReg the Super Raccoon, my biggest softie that I have ever made!  They bought it for their infant son and I am sure it will look great in his room!  I am off to upstate New York to help my sister and family with their move to Northhampton, Massachusetts.  I can’t wait to hang out with my nephew and niece.  Look out Tilden and Ida, here comes Auntie J!  I leave you with my favorite photo of SuperReg the SuperRaccoon fighting crime from a tree above the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood. 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

4 thoughts on “An End to a Crafty Weekend!

  1. I love these Jenny! I am pretty certain my son would love one of these crafty bears!! Where can I order one?

  2. Hi Jenny! It was a pleasure to meet you at Renegade LA. Just want to let you know you have a shout out on the Stampington blog! So happy to see your plushies in Stuffed 🙂 http://stampington.com/blog/index.php/2012/08/02/stampington-goes-to-renegade-craft-fair-2012/

Leave a Reply

