teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Lundi Lundi.

Leave a comment

Hello.

As I mentioned briefly, the birds are almost finished, but I ran out of stuffing.  I will be getting some more tonight on my way to the airport to pick up my husband.  He has been in Florida visiting his Dad with his Brother.  It has been very quiet around here, but Reg the cat and I will be happy to have him back!

The birds are waiting patiently to be able to fly!  Yesterday I needed an adventure, so I walked to the Melrose Trading Post.  It’s this huge outdoor flea market that is put on by the Fairfax High School every Sunday.  It’s been going since the 90’s and each time I go, it seems to get better and better.  You can find everything there from vintage clothes, jean shorts, art, jewelry, junk, records, and lots of repurposed furniture.  It’s a good 25 block walk and I had a few blisters because I keep wearing my shoes that are too tight and they aren’t stretching out.  I also stopped at WholeFoods for some things and the inside of my tea bottle made my day!  I came across this on my walk, right near my place!  I mentioned it recently saying that I was loving it!  I like the sign and the green building on the right is Mark Mothersbaugh’s recording studios.  You may know him from Devo, but also this is where they produce music for Wes Anderson movies, among others!  I walked along Fountain Avenue to get to the Trading Post and Fountain is very historic and full of wonderful architecture from the 20’s.  The Chateau Frontenac is a historic Canadian landmark in Quebec City and I found another one in my neighbourhood!  Now I have been to both.  This building, the El Mirador is Barry’s favourite.  I think it looks like a hotel…If I lived here, I’d feel like a bullfighter!I really like these old apartments and I think this is an original garage sliding door.  And of course if you lived here, you’d call it the Casbah.  I was quite hot when I arrived at the flea market, but I managed to walk around and see most of it.  I didn’t take many photos, but I did take this one as I mourned the loss of a once loved Teddy Ruxpin nearing his eminent death…There was a furbee there also, but I couldn’t bear to take his photo as he was quite dishevelled.  I did purchase some small hemostat scissors to help me to turn things inside out and a vintage suitcase to use to display my softies.  It was pretty funny to walk home with this.  I think I looked a bit like a homeless person…The fun thing about going to the Trading Post is that KidRobot, one of my favourite stores is on the way home…It’s a toy store for adults who embrace their inner child, such as myself.  I may have bought a blind Treeson box and I may have opened it and gotten one that I really wanted…Okay, I have to make the place all homey and cozy for my husband’s return this evening.  Happy in Crafting……..

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

