teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

For the Birds…

Leave a comment

I am crafting away, taking advantage of my alone time.  My husband is away visiting his Father in Florida.  He is sitting on the sandy beach as we speak.  So, I have been spending my time with Reg the Cat and my sewing machine.  I am working on some birds, which I  ran out of, and I just made a few bears…The bears that I have recently made are quite special.   I was given a box of vintage material.  The donor was clearing out her sewing cupboard and she came up with some interesting finds.  The best score was a few pieces of flannel with a post-it note stating that the fabric was over 50 years old!  So, that puts it in in the late 50’s to early 60’s.  So, since it’s flannel and reminds me of Madmen pajamas, I made two bears that are very snuggly in their p.j.’s.  The flannel was actually quite delicate and difficult to work with, but I was determined.  I made fake trap doors on their bottoms to complete the p.j. effect.  I was very excited to attend the Sunset Strip Farmer’s Market which started this week, only 3 blocks from my house!  It is comparable to my favourite market in Kitsilano, Vancouver that I used to attend and this one even has a little restaurant and wine garden!  I am so happy this new market exists and I think it will do a lot of good for our neighbourhood in general, in regards to getting people to be more earthy, and social and less snobby by bringing all different types of people together.  As soon as I got home I made a wonderful veggie juice from my purchases.  Those tomatoes were to die for.  Okay, I need to get back to crafting.  Oh, and laundry and general monotonous cleaning of our apartment while listening to Canadian Radio on satellite. 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

