teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Baking is fun!

Leave a comment

I attempted to make my first vegan cupcakes today.  They came out a bit dry and more like muffins, but the icing is delicious, so I just gooped it on!  They are carrot cake cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.  All vegan.  They taste pretty good and I am bringing them to a friend’s house for dinner, so hopefully they will be enjoyed by all.  I had to make the vegan cream cheese icing a peachy color because it came out a light beige and not attractive.  I used vegan sprinkles that I got from Wholefoods called Sprinkelz.  The icing is not thick, but it might be the best icing I’ve ever tasted.  I used whole wheat flour which is why it looks so hearty and organic maple sugar from Trader Joe’s.  I think that things that are homemade are so great.  There are so many baked goods at the grocery store and they cost a lot less than homemade, but homemade is so much more thoughtful.

The birds are getting some final touches and this afternoon I will be making some new critters.  Here they are.And finally, I took the lion and raccoon up to the roof a few days ago to take a photo that will be used for Renegade Handmade Craft Fair.  Adorable! 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

