teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

A Word About Diligence

Leave a comment

Diligence is defined as steadfast application – the virtue of hard work rather than the sin of careless sloth.  I was trying to be diligent with my blog, but I must admit that I am not keeping up with my ambitious goal of blogging five days a week.  There are  a few blogs that I follow and I take comfort in knowing that some of my favorite ones only blog one or two days a week, but I still feel a bit bad about it.  I realize and accept that sometimes life gets in the way of our ambitions, but I’ve let myself down.  I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, but I am going to try harder.  I have to admit that when I click on one of the blogs that I follow and there isn’t a new blog post, I feel a tiny bit of disappointment in the pit of my stomach.  There are a few blogs that I love that make me upset because they only blog about once a month.  I promise you – faithful reader, that I will never become that monthly blogger.  Plus, I ‘ve got too many exciting things to share!

First off, a friend of mine asked me to needlefelt her some cake toppers for her wedding this summer.  She wanted bright yellow birds and I am very pleased with the finished results!  I apologize for the blurriness of the photos.  They were just quick snapshots that I emailed her.  I like their bird tails!  I don’t think that anyone attending their wedding in Texas this summer reads this blog, so I hope I’m not spoiling the surprise by posting these!

I am working on a few softies that aren’t quite finished, but you can have a sneak peek…This lion and bear are an extension of the retro lion that I made for the feature film which apparently has started production.  I was sad to send him off and since I really like the retro look, I am going to make a few.  As soon as they are sewn up, I will list them in my shop.

In other news, my friend Mary and I are attending an Etsy craft night tomorrow evening at the Folk Art Museum(CAFAM) and we are going to learn to make a victorian needlepoint.  It should be fun and it’s my first Etsy craft night!  Then, next weekend(May 12 and 13) we will be attending Unique LA’s spring show.  I didn’t apply for this show, but I think it will be nice to attend and check out all of the talent!  My friend Stephanie will be selling her soap and you can read more about her ethical soap here…http://www.lukasoap.com/

Okay, I am off to run some errands and try and find the sun, which has been absent for a few days, which is rare here in SoCal…

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

