teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Sweater Vests are Cool!

Leave a comment

I have not been very diligent with my blog posts lately.  I guess there are times when I feel less creative than others.  I have been crafty lately, but it has been on a smaller scale.  I got back into needlefelting this week and have created some small critters.  They are only a little over two inches.  I am going to make many of them for my summer craft fairs.  There is something so appealing to me about miniature things.  I have a small collection of various mini things and that collection will probably get bigger.  Maybe it’s the appeal of slipping it into your pocket and going on a adventure, or maybe it’s as simple as small can equal cute.  Whatever the case, mini things rule.  These minis in sweater vests were happy to have vests to keep them a bit warmer on an overcast day!

I found some interesting burgundy fabric at the store the other day.  It is kind of like a thick corduroy, which is pretty much a ridged velvet and I think it would be used to make upholstery.  Regardless, I bought some and made a fox doll with it.  The limbs are very long and skinny, in fact the whole doll is very skinny and tall and lanky.  I like the corduroy and I like foxes, so I’ll probably make some more.  And lastly, I finished up a bird that I have been working on.  This poor bird/owl had been only a face for some time and had been patiently waiting for a body to “stretch his wings” and now he can finally do that!  Fox and Owl are getting along quite nicely and I think they compliment eachother.  I am off to Westwood Village.  Barry won a dinner for 4 at Native Foods Vegan Restaurant!  They were closed for expansion and tonight is the re-opening.  We are  treating our friends Mary and Jesse.  Native Foods is one of my very favorites and so it will be a real treat to be first in the newly improved restaurant!  See you…

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

