teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Springtime is here…

2 Comments

Well, it’s Spring and although it’s more difficult to tell here in So Cal  where the seasons don’t change much,  I am most definitely feeling it.  I have been a very busy crafter lately.  I finished my giant lion(30 inches) which may be involved in a movie.  I think he is adorable and am not going to give him up happily.  It’s so easy to become attached to your artwork and then when you have to give it up, there is a bit of a mourning.  It may be small, but those sad pangs are most definitely there.  This lion is off to Puerto Rico for shooting!  If he does make it in, I’m not allowed to say much, but he will share the screen with Robert De Niro and Sophia Vergara.   Let’s hope he gets some screen time!  Barry Bunny and Rexford Rabbit are now listed in my shop if you need a spring softie.  I think they are quite handsome and need to go to a good home!  Barry is the bunny with the tie.  He is named after my fiancee who has salt and pepper hair, just like the bunny and who frequently wears ties to work.  And speaking of bunnies, I am newly addicted to needlefelting and have made a few bunnies!  What do you think?  The beige one  was a gift, but the grey one is for sale in my shop.  They are 4 inches in height and very light!  I am going to make some for my nephew for Easter!  I like their tails.  This one was taken outside on the sunny rooftop!I am a tiny bit cranky because I am doing a mini 3 day cleanse.  This one is making my brain foggy.  We are drinking the water with lemon and maple syrup and cayenne pepper, and tons of teas and we are allowing ourselves one simple meal at dinner time.  Tonight’s meal is plain brown rice and steamed kale.  I can’t wait for that!

My birthday is on Thursday and Barry has the day off so it has been fun planning it so far…

We are going to go to the LACMA which is the LA Art Gallery and I have been dying to go there, so it is highly anticipated.  Then we are going for lunch.  We considered the Ivy, which is a reservation only, high end, rustic restaurant in Beverly Hills on Robertson, but we decided against it.  Our other options are a lunch at the Farmer’s Market at the Grove for Italian, or maybe Lucifer’s Pizza in Los Feliz.  Then maybe something for dinner later, and then, one of my favorite artists, Daniel Clowes is signing at Meltdown Comics.  That should be fun!  Barry is having a birthday party for me on Saturday and we are expecting 14 people or so.  We have ordered Vegan red velvet cupcakes from Sprinkles and a few gluten free ones also.

So, I’m off to get some supplies for the party and to enjoy the nice 70F, sunny weather of today. 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

2 thoughts on “Springtime is here…

  1. Your lion came out so nice, he is so cute!!! Good luck, I really hope he gets into the movie. Maybe they can fly him back to you after he’s done with the movie..

Leave a Reply

