teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Last Day of Winter…

Leave a comment

It is supposed to be the last day of winter and when I lived in Canada that seemed to mean much more to me.  Here is Southern California, I haven’t really had winter this year which is great, but has been a big adjustment to my seasonal clock.  So, just in time for spring is the Easter Bunny.  Actually he is a “haredresser”.  You can tell by how well groomed he is!  This little bunny is motivating me to make a few more rabbits.  There is a movie being made and I have a chance to get one of my softies in that film, so I have been drawing my design.  The movie takes place in the 60’s and so I am making a giant lion, but this one with have a much more retro looking face and I will be using vintage material from that era.  I think it will be a fun project and let’s hope it makes it into the film!

I went to Lemonade this week.  For those of you who don’t know it, it’s one of my favorite places to eat.  They have a bunch of different salads to choose from and you can split your portion up, so that you can sample many salads.  They also have chili, soup, baked salmon and yummy desserts.  And of course, they have 10 or so kinds of lemonade!  Shown here is a sneek peek at the salads, arnold palmer, blood orange and blueberry mint lemonade(mine).

One of my favorite bloggers, Heidi Kenney made cinnamon raisin bread the other day and she posted photos of it on her blog.  I have never made bread before and decided to try.  Her photos made my mouth water!  My attempt was successful and I made three loaves.  It’s great toasted for breakfast and Barry even made french toast out of it yesterday.  Barry was off yesterday and the LA Marathon was happening right on Sunset which we live directly above, so we went to Peets Coffee to cheer them on for awhile.  I got to see the top men, who were a group of Kenyans, all running in a clump.  They were very fast!  Here is a photo of the non-professionals.  There was a little boy near us with his Dad and he was waiting for his Mom to run by.  At one point, he pointed at a runner and asked, “Dad, is that Chris Paul?”  It was very funny!  It was really great to be on Sunset and not have any cars racing past.  It was quite serene.  Here is how much of a ghost town is was.  This is at the intersection of Sunset and San Vicente.And finally, this is a sign in my neighbourhood that I have been meaning to take a photo of.  If you just glanced at it, it looks like a normal street sign, but if you take a closer look, you realize that it must be an art installment.  Even Guerilla art of some kind.  Very clever.  

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

