teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Sunday Musings…

Leave a comment

Well, it’s Sunday evening.  Barry and I are chilling.  I have had a very relaxing day.  I got to speak to my 4 year old nephew.  My sister told me that as he was chatting with me on the phone, he was pacing around the house because that’s what Mom and Dad do when they talk on the phone.  It’s amazing how much children mimic us!  At one point he told me that he was talking to me from the closet and that he was in the dirty laundry basket.  Hilarious!  After speaking with him, I made him a wallet.  He asked for one for his birthday and today I finally got around to it.  I am quite happy with the outcome. It’s quilted and has velcro for easy opening for a four year old and I have put a U.S. dollar, a Canadian dollar coin(loonie) and a Canadian two dollar coin(two-nie) in it!  ImageMy nephew has a guitar and a ukelele, so I think he will like the print.  I like the raindrop material inside!  I am going to mail it off to New York tomorrow!  ImageI also made myself a quilted case for my glasses.  They aren’t real glasses, but when I wear them it makes me feel like I am smarter, or that it’s Halloween.  ImageI love it!  It is so very whimsical!  ImageI am making an effort to blog at least five times a week.  I love to write, and also it keeps me more connected.  I think when there are a lot of posts, the blog has a lot more flow  for readers.  My favorite blogs that I enjoy,  have frequent posts and I find that I really enjoy this.  When I click on one of my favorite blogs and find that day after day, there are no new posts, I feel a tiny bit sad, and a little less loyal.  It feels like I have been reading a story and when I go to pick up the book again, I can’t find it.  I would like to share with you a few of my most loved blogs.  First, I would have to say that Mimi Kirchner’s “Doll” is special.  Whether you are into dolls or not, she blogs frequently and really likes to describe her process as an artist which is great.  Mimi’s attention to detail in her artwork is quite special and a true labor of love. The fact that Mimi will let us into her art studio for a peek is very brave.   Here is the link    http://mimikirchner.com/blog/

Another blog that I enjoy is Heidi Kenney’s.  Heidi is a plush artist among other things and she has a line of plush and vinyl items that she designed for Kidrobot called “Yummy”.  She is always busy designing funky fabrics, or making delicious food or collecting various items.  I always look forward to her blog posts.  Here is the link to Heidi’s blog – My Paper Crane   http://www.mypapercrane.com/blog/?cat=9

Okay, I am off to watch Forty Year Old Virgin with my fiancee.  Believe it or not, he hasn’t seen it.  This might be my third time or so.  I will be back here tomorrow.  I promise! 

 

 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

