teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

I Reminisce Over You…

Leave a comment

I was listening to CBC Radio 3 today on satellite.  For those of you non-Canadians, CBC stands for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.  CBC radio can be compared to NPR.  Radio Three is all music, all Canadian.  Anyway, the host Graham Clark was talking about how rainy it was.  He described it as the kind of rain where you keep looking out the window and dreading the minute that you have to step outside and make your way to work.  For a split second, I missed Vancouver and it’s rain.  There’s something to be said for how lush and green Vancouver can be.  Also, when it actually does get sunny, Vancouverites cherish every minute of it and head outside!  I was telling my friend today that I missed my old house in Kitsilano and my roomates.  I lived with many girls and we had a great time, and we even had communal dinners on a regular basis.  I can’t tell you how nice it was to come home from work to a nice, healthy vegetarian dinner after a long day!  The thing I miss the most about the West 15th st pad is my bedroom.  I have a great apartment now, but there was something about the whimsical nature of my bedroom, affectionately called the ‘Fun Room’ by my roomies.  The room was bright yellow and I did it up to the best of my ability on short notice and I really loved every moment I spent there.  No matter what kind of day I was having, I just had to chill out in the fun room and I felt better almost instantly!  Not only was the bed quite cozy and soothing, the other bonus was my turntables which were set up in the corner.  There is really nothing like the sound of vinyl!  What fun times those were.  Oh, and I can’t fail to mention that I had a beautiful deck that had a view of the mountains and a very pretty neighbourhood too!  I cannot find any photos of the deck, but here is a pretty photo of Vancouver from  a winter bike ride around Stanley Park last year.  This is to prove to anyone who cares that the sun actually comes out  in Vancouver.  Oh Vancouver, I reminisce over you …

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

