teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Cold, then Hot!!!

Leave a comment

This week started out very rainy!  For those of you who aren’t aware, it barely rains here in Los Angeles.  I have observed that when it does rain, it has a very heavy downpour with a Monsoon-like quality to it.  High winds, lots of water, and much fallen foliage.  A good day to stay indoors in front of  the fireplace!  Now, it’s Thursday and the weather has become quite pleasant.  Today is a high of 80F and that’s not too shabby for January.  This was the sky yesterday from my rooftop!

I have been busy crafting and this week I have made two Lovebirds.  I guess I was inspired by Valentines, but also because I don’t have any birds in my collection.  They literally look quite literary! 

My other big, and I’m not exaggerating this time, BIG creation is Lowell, the Giant Lion.  Lowell is 29 inches and quite large!  It’s difficult to tell just how large Lowell is, but you can somewhat tell because he is sitting on a human chair.  He was a lot of work and let’s just say I broke at least one needle on my sewing machine making him!  Here is Lowell atop my turntable.Take my word for it, Lowell is BIG!

I went to Silverlake yesterday with my new friend Mary Lundquist.  She is an artist.  I love her art and you can check her out at http://www.marylundquist.com/

It was her first time to Silverlake and we had a nice time walking around and exploring.  We went to the Spice shop which is wonderful and very zen, then went to my favorite comic shop, Secret Headquarters.  Oh, we had a great lunch at Forage, which is a healthy and yummy restaurant.  Then we also had coffee at the Casbah coffee cafe.  Overall it was a fun, and hot and sunny day and the highlight was probably walking right past Mike D, of Beastie Boys fame.  I was very excited and trying to get Mary’s attention and I punched her in the arm.  I couldn’t help it.  She said it hurt a bit, and I was apologetic, but come on people….. Mike D!  Awesome!

Last night Barry and I attended Nerdmelt, a great comedy show at Meltdown Comics and among great regulars like Kumail Nanjani, Jonah Ray and Chris Hardwicke, there were a few special guests such as Tim Meadows from SNL and Demetri Martin!  People who know me, know that Demetri Martin is one of my most favorite people on the planet, so that was quite exciting!

Well, I am off to Santa Monica today.  The weather is supposed to be great and we are renting bikes and cruising along the ocean, also meeting up with friends and going for sushi!  I hope you have a creative day! 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

