teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Lovecats

Leave a comment

It’s a beautiful, sunny day in L.A. and although it might only be 14C or so, I am not complaining because all of my friends back home in Whistler, say that it’s extremely cold there!  So, no compaints here.

I have been crafting daily and am quite pleased with my results and creations.  I have cats…This guys doesn’t have a name yet, but he is definitely a cool cat!  He has cassettes all over his shirt.  How cool.  I like his salt and pepper grey fur.  This cat is very much a Lovecat, very vibrant pink and ready for Valentines Day!  This black bear is fun and very whimsically clothed.  This is a new lion.  I am very in love with the guitar fabric at the moment.  I also used the guitar fabric for a denim tote bag.  The fabric on the inside is 70’s vintage and I got it from Silverlake.  I made a lot of bags actually.  And a few more bags…I just finished a 3 day juice cleanse.  I was aiming for 5 days, but I’m pretty happy to have made it 3 days!  There are a few things that I have learned from this experience.

1) Food gives me much needed energy to excercise.

2) The kitchen is an evil, tempting place when you are cleansing.

3) Food tastes much better after you cleanse.  It’s like refreshing your tastebuds!

I did allow myself a few juices from the juicer on the cleanse.  Usually a fruit juice for breakfast and a veggie juice mid-afternoon.  I will try to cleanse longer next attempt.  I am proud of myself nonetheless.

We have been visiting the new West Hollywood library a lot and I managed to snap a few photos today when I was there.  This doesn’t do the architecture of the building  justice, but it was on the fly…The inside stairs leading to the second floor are quite grand.This pretend tree is on the wall and ceiling as you walk up those stairs.  All of the ceiling on the second floor looks like this, wooden and birdlike.  The library was designed by Johnson Favaro.  This is one of my favorite views, looking up towards my apartment and with the “red” Design Center to the right.  More design center across the road.  Anyway, this place is my new obsession and you can probably see why!  I always walk by this guy’s photo in the library and I wonder if he is any relation to Jason Sedakis?I would say so!  And finally, I will leave you with an interesting art piece that is fixed to the side of a nursery school in West Hollywood.  Somebody is watching you!

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

