teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Better Late Than Never!

Leave a comment

Happy New Year!

Even though it has already been 2012 for a week, this is my first blog of the New Year!  I had a wonderful and mellow Christmas and Barry spoiled me a little bit.  Christmas Day was very warm out and most definitely my warmest Christmas of all time.  We spent the day listening to new vinyl records, baking and eating and drinking.  I made some sugar cookies and they were really fun to make and decorate.  Wow, those cookies were good!  Christmas night, we had one of Barry’s friends over and shared a quaint Christmas dinner with him.  And we played Trivial Pursuit!

New Year’s was spent with friends at a dinner at the Glendon restaurant in Westwood Village. There was a great live jazz band that we grooved to and went home shortly after midnight.  I was the designated driver.

We have been thoroughly enjoying our new vintage drinking glasses.  It just goes to prove that they don’t make glasses they way they used to.  Fresh squeezed grapefruit juice tastes especially good in vintage glassware.  We also did a few trips to the new library, which I am absolutely in love with.  This is Barry reading a new graphic novel that he signed out.  The West Hollywood library is in the background.  As far as crafting goes, I have been enjoying new fabrics and new designs and am very into making my softies in overalls.  There is Oster the Sea Otter…And another raccon.  His  name is Rico.I made a funky mutt named Montgomery…But my most absolute favorite right now is Lowry the Lion.  The weird thing is that I got this new thick, mangy, but high quality fur in a spontaneous purchase.  I thought it looked like wolf fur, so in an attempt to design a new wolf creature, it came out looking like a lion.  And I love it.  At first, Barry said it wasn’t my strongest artwork, but now we love it!  I took Lowry to my crafting group function yesterday and he was highly praised by all!  So, here he is…Isn’t he adorable?  Of course I am biased, but come on?  How cute is he?  Lately when I craft, I have been listening to lots of music and podcasts and there are two podcasts that I am loyal to, solely for the fact that they are quite amusing.  One is “Stop Podcasting Yourself” which is based in Vancouver. Dave Shumka and Graham Clark are hilarious.  The other podcast is called”You Had To Be There” which is based in Brooklyn and features two female Comediennes, Sara Schaefer and Nikki Glaser.  They are great and they podcast from Sara’s living room and they even have a studio audience.  They call their listeners Hobot and Brobots and this inspired me to make a hobot and brobot for them.  I sent them a photo and they are very excited to receive these softies.  Here is a photo…These were really fun to make and I am happy with how they turned out!

As for inspiration, I am reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and it is highly motivational.  It centers around the premise that even if you are happy, there are things that you can do to enhance your happiness.  Basically, you can bring more happiness into your life, if you invite it.

The other book that I am really into is Geek Girls Unite by Leslie Simon.  I consider myself a bit of a geek girl, so I can relate to this book and it’s themes.  It’s about how fangirls, bookworms, indie chicks and other misfits are taking over the world.  What’s not to like about that?

To Be Continued another day…..

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

