teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

It’s Beginning to Look Alot Like Christmas, or Hanukkah, or Christmukkah, or Hanukkmas?

Leave a comment

Well, as the holiday season approaches and the temperature is Los Angeles feels almost chilly, I have my feet up on the coffee table, the fireplace roaring(it’s gas) and the presents all wrapped.  The Christmas tree is small, only a couple of feet high and is covered in blue lights and many ornaments, homemade and special ones that I have collected over the years.  I celebrate Christmas.  I always have, but this year, I have been more sensitive to the fact that not everyone does Christmas.  I have caught myself saying, “Happy Holidays”, as opposed to “Merry Christmas”, as not to offend.  In a way, I feel that it must be difficult if you don’t celebrate Christmas, because the lights and music and food are everywhere.  I guess the said non-celebrating Christmas people are used to this, still, Happy Holidays to my non-Christmas friends, and Merry Christmas to my Christmas friends.  It’s all so complicated if you really think about it…

I have been busy crafting and doing some holiday craft shows and now it is time to relax a bit and enjoy the holidays.  Although I do plan to do some sewing today, I am also planning to make some scones and wrap a few last minute gifts.  Here is what I have been working on.

I ordered this really nice, thick green fur and made these two bear softies in overalls.  They are waiting to be stuffed and are quite adorable really. 

This is Horatio.  He is a sasquatch and he is quite well groomed.  His moustache was inspired by a trip to Silverlake where I saw many men with moustaches and beards.  I think he is quite handsome(for a Bigfoot anyway)  There is also a female sasquatch.  She isn’t named yet.  I also made a bunch of pocket softies.  They are only 3 inches tall and I left the stuffing out of their arms and legs so that you can curl them up and actually put them in a pocket if you like. 

I had an incident over the past few days and although I dealt with it, it was a difficult thing to deal with.  Let me explain and I welcome your feedback.

A woman messaged me on Etsy that she really liked one of my softies.  She mentioned that she has never tried making things with fur and then proceeded to ask me what kind of material I used for the face.  I politely thanked her and wrote her back, explaining that I used wool felt and even gave her the name of the friend’s shop that I support and buy from.  She then wrote me back today and asked about some of the techniques that I use and how do I attach the face to the fur etc.  This kind of mildly upset me.  I politely explained to her that Etsy was my store where I showcased and sold my designs and that if she liked my softies so much, she should buy one.  I went on to say that Etsy is not a free tutorial for me to share my craft and that I didn’t feel comfortable explaining my design to her. Obviously I realize that people look at objects on Etsy and get ideas and try to make things, but it’s all about being discreet.  Although this woman was very polite and gracious for all information that I could give her, I was not comfortable sharing.  My items on Etsy are part of my business and my art. 

And to conclude my thoughts with my own, original quote about crafting…”There are those that design and create, and then there are those that copy”

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

