teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Up for a busy weekend!

Leave a comment

Hello Everyone!  I hope you are having a wonderful Friday!  I am just gearing up for a show tomorrow.  It is in Silverlake which is possibly my favorite part of L.A. for it’s hipness.  The show is Silverlake Art/Craft/Vintage and it should be great fun!  I have been very busy sewing this week and I made something especially for the Silverlake crowd of hipsters and artisans and just plain cooler than cool people.  I made retro holiday ornaments and I am quite proud of my accomplishments.  What do you think?

At first I was just doing an A side or a B side, but then I got more creative and started putting genres on the tapes.  I think my favorite one is either latin, or the 80’s mix.  Who doesn’t love a good 80’s mix?  I also really love disco! 

The other uber fun things that I designed and made are tiny record album ornaments.  They were really fun to make and I got to be super creative with them.  I like the rainbow stripe the most.

I hope that they go over well at the show tomorrow.  Message me if you need any of these.

There hasn’t been a whole lot going on this week for me.  Last week, I finished reading an awesome book called, “Ready Player One”.  It’s by Ernest Cline and it is a sci-fi/very hip/also very nerdy book.  It’s about these people in the future who spend most of their time in a virtual reality and are trying to solve riddles and challenges that were implemented by the creator of this reality.  It’s full of 80’s references to music, pop culture and video games of the past.  I highly recommend it.

Today, I made some new softies for this weekend.  There is a polar bear, a black cat(like my cat Reg), and two Yeti’s.

Now that I am doing shows and meeting  a lot of people I am perplexed by something that comes up a lot.  Many adults come by my table and they remark on my softies and bears and then they tell me that they wish they had a child in their life to buy it for.  It makes me a bit confused and frustrated because I don’t understand that concept.  If they like it, then why don’t they buy it for themselves?  Where did their inner child go and why can they not embrace it?  Why do toys and stuffed animals have to be for children only?  Obviously there is a time and a place for these things.  You wouldn’t carry a softie around with you in public and take it on the subway.  But, there’s nothing wrong with having it on your desk at work, or on your favorite chair at home.  My partner has an action figure showcase.  At first when we moved in together it became a topic of tension and I didn’t really care for it, but I have learned to embrace it because I know that he loves it.  It’s not like he’s taking out the Aquamen figures and playing with them and parking them in his mashed potatoes.  To him, they are art and if it makes him happy, it makes me happy.  It doesn’t make him immature or childish or less masculine.  He even loved me enough to sacrifice one half of the four shelves for my small Kidrobot/vinyl toy/snowboard smurf collection. 🙂

I challenge each one of you to get in touch with your inner child at least once this weekend and enjoy the process! 

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

