teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Motivation

2 Comments

I spent the weekend in gorgeous Malibu and I have to say that I enjoyed almost every minute of it.  I was at a Christmas Marketplace at a church/school and it put me in the holiday spirit.  The school was located up on a hill, just above the ocean and it was extremely scenic! 

The photo above is part of the school grounds at Our Lady of Malibu School.  It had a garden and a hidden soccer field.  Below is the view looking down towards the ocean.

The Marketplace was fairly small, but lively and full of great crafts and edibles for sale.  I sold enough to make it worth my while and now I am gearing up for Silverlake Art/Craft/Vintage this Saturday.  Here is me at my table and I am wearing my new raccoon puppet.

Craft fairs are fun places to meet people and talk about my art.  My most popular items were my softies and I sold many cats, bears, and a few foxes and one Sasquatch. I also sold many of my wool felt ornaments.  Here are a few more photos. At the bottom, I have put these into a small slideshow for you to enjoy!

This week, I will be feverishly re-making some of the items that I sold to replace them in my inventory and I also have a surprise holiday craft that I will be making for Silverlake.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with Silverlake, it is a very artsy and somewhat bohemian type of community.  In Silverlake, you will find many hipsters and crafty people strolling around the streets, coming in and out of coffee shops, cheese shops and comic book shops.  It will most definitely be a different crowd from the group that attended the church marketplace where I was in Malibu.  Also, at this show, I will be selling comic books as well.  My partner used to have a comic shop and we have a storage full of his collection.  The more we get rid of, the more space we have.

As much as I would like to keep writing, I have a busy day of crafting ahead of me and I am very excited to get to it!  I will leave you with a few more photos of Malibu and the school grounds and I hope they will fill your Monday with serenity!  And yes, that is the best red velvet cake that I have ever seen, but no, I did not try it! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

2 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. hey there! I’m a friend of Bertine Stelzer and she sent me a link to your website because I also live in LA and am an artist. I love your animals and blog, you have such a unique and cool style. Maybe we could meet up sometime? best, mary lundquist

Leave a Reply

