teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Happy Mondays

Leave a comment

Monday is here again, and after a fun and relaxing Sunday it’s back to the grind…Well, sort of, but not really.  My most pending business of the day today is hitting the gym for a workout, and then meeting up with my Fiancee for an appointment this afternoon.  And maybe hitting the fabric store also.  I am getting all of these photos and stories on Facebook of my friends in Whistler, who are enjoying a fabulous dump of snow and skiing and snowboarding to their heart’s delight.  Although, I am a tiny bit jealous, I am happy with how well I am dealing with a sunny winter.  Let me show you the beautiful view that I see when I wake up in the morning.

It is the most beautiful bamboo with the sun shining through.  It’s definitely a lot different than how I used to wake up in Whistler, with snow all over my car and I am okay with that.  Here is another view from the patio…

It’s a pretty nice life here in Southern California.  I found a new place that I am going to explore this week.  It is called Larchmount Village and it’s not too far from me and full of shops and cafes.  It sounds funky and even has a store owned by Punky Brewster.  I can’t wait.

I have a new addiction right now besides sewing.  It’s sprouts.  I grew my own five days ago and now they are ready to eat and the problem is, I can’t stop munching on them.  And to tell you the truth, I feel better each bite that I take.  They are so healthy!  I grew a mix of clove, fenugreek, arugula and rose radish!  I will be growing some more soon.

Yesterday, it was pouring rain here in Hollywood, which is rare, but Barry had the day off and took me to Amoeba Records, where we have a store credit and so yesterday we spent some of it!  Look at what I got!  Q-Tip is my happy place and I love this Roots album from last year.(Their 12th album!)  

I have been avidly sewing as I have a show in just over two weeks now in Malibu and these albums are very comforting as I sew!  I made a blue bird softie that I am not very fond of, so I didn’t take any photos of it.  I did however, make two raccoons in denim overalls and they are just about finished and quite adorable. 

Quick raccoon story…  When I was living in Whistler, I had a two bedroom suite and was between roomates.  I came home one night, from a night out with the girls and my apartment was completely trashed.  There was food anywhere and everywhere and my toilet was full of granola bar wrappers.  I had just read about a bear who got into someone’s house and attacked them, so I called 911.  It was at least 2am in the morning, so I called my landlord and good friend Kelli from upstairs.  Although it was very late to wake her, I thought it would be better than her getting woken up to a police car pulling up in her driveway.  She came down in her robe and we waited outside as instructed by the police. Four police arrived with handguns and shotguns and after investigating the entire apartment, declared it safe.  The conservation officer then showed up and announced that my suite had been invaded by a family of raccoons.  We discovered a hole in my bedroom screen where a clever raccoon had inserted his claw and ripped open.  There were paw prints all over the walls, apple peels ground into the tiled floors and crumbs in my bed and all over my favorite chair!  The raccoons totally got me and the cleanup took hours.  Nevertheless, I still find them to be the most adorable creatures which inspired me to make them into softies.

Here is a banner that I just made to use for my craft shows.  It will be strung across the front of my table. 

It is difficult to tell from the photo, but all of the letters are stuffed.  It was a labor of love.

I am off to the gym and then Santa Monica on this beautiful, autumn day and I leave you with a photo of my patio, which still has plants and flowers!  It’s very foreign to me that they are still growing as I hail from a winter wonderland, but I’ll take it!   

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

