teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Sunny Autumn Days

Leave a comment

Well, even though my week started off a little blue, things are most definitely looking up!  It is a challenge to to be an artist and to promote yourself, so I have been listening to podcasts that are specifically for artists, trying to market themselves and their craft.  I am learning a lot and having fun listening also.  And don’t worry, for those of you who believe in me, I am not giving up anytime soon.

One thing that has been helping me to craft is our new juicer!  It is amazing to prepare myself fresh juice that is not only refreshing, but superbly healthy!  Apple,lime,ginger and spearmint is my favorite anytime juice.  After a gym workout, I have a veggie juice which is usually beet/celery/tomato/kale and carrot.  It tastes much like a V-8, only much less salty.  Yesterday morning I made grapefruit/strawberry and that was a great wake-me-up juice.  I love the foam too! 

Another project that I have taken on is growing my own sprouts.  It is very easy!  I ordered some seed mix from an organic farm.  Just take a tablespoon of seeds and put them in a jar and soak in water for about 8 hours.  Cover the top of the jar with cheese cloth or mesh.  I have used burlap because that’s what I had lying around.  Then rinse the seeds twice a day and drain them.  Excess drips can be drained by leaving the jar on a 45 degree angle.  They still have 4 days left, but they are growing very heartily and I cannot wait to add them to a salad!

My compulsion to craft has led me to the most wonderful creation and my favorite so far of all of my softies! Raccoons! 

I just love their little faces so much!  If you look closely, you can see that Reg the cat tried to get into the photo.  He was coming in for a pet when I took this.  I have made some foxes also.  They are awesome and I just love the color of the fur, which is very fox-like. 

It is sunny and warm today and I took advantage of our sunny Los Angeles rooftop to take some photos of the new softies.  The softies got to horsing around and ended up in this tree! 

Reg the raccoon(dressed in plaid) is most definitely the ring leader of mischief and got himself into another tree a few minutes later. 

Well, it’s time to go.  Barry is taking me to see “Being Elmo” today.  I have been hinting at it for weeks and we will be going to an afternoon show.  Kevin Clash, the puppeteer of Elmo is the subject and apparently it’s a very feel-good, motivational film.  Here is the trailer if you are interested…            http://beingelmo.com/trailer.html

Okay, I am off to list my new raccoons and fleet of foxes.  I hope it’s sunny where you are!

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

