teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Hanging in there!

Leave a comment

There are ups and downs in every person’s life, and I am not immune to this.  I had a craft show that was supposed to happen on the weekend, but it got cancelled due to rain.  They actually cancelled it a few days before it happened, and I just kept thinking that they might call me at the last minute and tell me that it was back on.  Unfortunately that didn’t happen.  At first, after the disappointment, I was a bit confused because it was an outdoor market and those happen rain or shine in Canada, where I come from.  The day of the supposed Fair did turn out to be grey and yucky and I was glad that I didn’t have to attend.  Then I realized that the cancellation was actually a favor to the vendors because we wouldn’t have had much of a turnout.  People that live here, stay inside when it’s cold and grey.  Or they go and hang out in cozy, chic restaurants until it’s over.   It was just a bit of a culture shock, but I’m over it now.  I have two craft shows(possibly three) in December, so now I’m gearing up for those.

My Fiancee and I attended the Melrose Trading Post Flea Market on Sunday and we found a few great items.  He got some old vinyls that he had been looking for, including a Crosby,Stills, Nash and Young vinyl called Deja Vu, and I got this amazing old piece of luggage to use for my craft table display.  I think it’s from the forties and it’s full of character!

It’s very cool and in great shape.  It even has a mirror inside.  If this luggage could tell stories, I bet it would have some good ones! 

So, with a full inventory of bears and softies, and some extra time to kill, I have been working on my idea for hipster woodland animals.  So far I have a very tall, very sly, very cool fox…

And a very hip and furry bluebird…

I love their jeans!  These animals most definitely think that they are too cool!

Check out their low riding hipsta jeans bums…

I am also working on an otter.  Otters are one of my favorite animals of all time. This one is a girl.

So, with a lot of time on my hands this week, I am making a committed effort to go to the gym everyday this week, which can be a very interesting experience with all of the celebrities that work out there.  My other goal that I am working on is to design and start making holiday ornaments for my shows in December.  I have some good ideas up my sleeve.

I hope you are all having a productive and creative week!  I am off to get my cardio sweat on and pump some iron.

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

