teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

A Good Little Sunday

Leave a comment

What a great Sunday I am having!  I had breakfast in my home.  Not just any breakfast mind you, but one made by my wonderful fiancée who used to have his own cafe, which makes him pretty schooled in culinary arts.  I affectionately refer to his breakfasts as Barry’s Coffee Shop and we have a little kitchen nook which makes it quite a fun experience. 

After the organic eggs, organic bodum coffee and vegan bacon and english muffins, I feel great and am excited for a creative day!

It’s less than a week away until the Silverlake Art/Craft/Vintage show and I am very busy making softies.  I will also be selling some comics and some vinyl as well.  The softies are quickly taking over the apartment and it will be nice to let some of them go to make room in our living space. 

I am equally in love with the monkeys, cats and Sasquatchos.  I guess if I had to pick one favorite it would be Copernicus, the orange alley cat.  The french faux fur is extremely difficult to come by and is made in France.  It is meant for the fashion industry.  I have a secret Vancouver hookup, but she is quickly running out of this great fur. 

The monkeys were inspired by a couple costume that I saw at the KCRW Halloween Masquerade which was the cutest organ grinder and monkey. 

The Sasquatchos hail from Mexico and are named Guillermo and Bernardita.  Okay, so I made up the word Sasquatcho, but it sounds authentically Spanish.

True Sasquatch story… A few years ago, I was in the hospital for surgery and while I was recovering I shared a room with an elderly Aboriginal(Native) Canadian woman.  Someone had brought us a newspaper and on the cover was the 2010 Winter Olympics mascot Quatchi who happens to be a Sasquatch.  In a morphine stupor and because I was bored to death, I asked the women about her views on Bigfoot.  She said that she totally believed that the Sasquatch existed.  She said that she had heard their mating calls and loud screeches and growls often on the Reservation where she lived and that friends and neighbors of hers, claimed to have seen the Bigfoot.  My drug induced, nauseated self found this quite an interesting perspective.  I’m not sure what I think, but I do think Sasquatchos Rock!!!

Bernardita is my favorite of the two and I like the way my embroidery on the teeth resembles orthodontia. 

The weather here has been autumnal and less than sunny for Southern California.  I like this because it reminds me of home in British Columbia and I get to wear my toque(Canadian for beanie, hat, ski cap) and not sweat my face off.  Yesterday alternated between sun and clouds, but the view of downtown LA from my fire escape was unusually clear.

Okay, I am off to craft now and then craft some more.  Although this may sound exhausting, fortunately for me, crafting is life!

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

Leave a Reply

