teddybearrepublic

Jenny Smith Plush Artist

Joy and Pain

2 Comments

Just listening to Joy and Pain by Rob Base and DJ E-Z Rock as I write this post.  Doesn’t matter what your mood before this song,  if you mood isn’t different by the end, poor you.

Speaking of moods, I have been working on a rabbit and it hasn’t been going my way.  I have had a few technical difficulties that I don’t especially want to get into.  Basically I was working on a bit of a new pattern, or a variation and let’s just say that it didn’t go my way.  Here is a sneak peek of the rabbit.  His face turned out fine and his ears are passable.  Today I was a bit ill still, but I needed to get outside, so I went for walk towards Beverly Hills.  We are right near the border of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, so I only have to walk five minutes until I am in the thick of it.  By “it”, I mean the nicest, most plush neighborhoods imaginable.  I grabbed my camera instead of my phone and took a few photos today.  This first one is the Sierra Towers.  I love this building.  It’s so tall and sleek.  I guess Elton John and Cher  have a place here.  Oh and maybe I heard that Sidney Poitier and Miley Cyrus also have places there.  The only reason that I know these things is not because I’m a celebrity whore, but because the Hollywood tour buses go by every two minutes and I hear the guide telling the carload as I walk.  I know where John Lennon’s old house and Halle Berry’s are because of these buses.  I was going to go to the Greystone Manor next, but Paramount are shooting a movie there and there was no way I was going to get near it.  I took a photo of a beautiful flower bed, but at this point I was sweating and I think my camera took the wrath.  Right by the Greystone Manor there was another tour bus and it was stopped and people were frolicking and scrambling to get a photo of this – the King of Alternate Celebrity Religions, Tom Cruise’s house.  I don’t see what the big deal is?  On my walk home, I saw some bougainvillea that were blooming quite nicely. Then I walked by one of my most favorite buildings.  It was build in 1937 and has been renovated, but still has it’s original look.  Mickey Rooney and Ava Gardner are some of the past famous tenants.  I am learning a lot about the architecture in LA and there are so many wonderful buildings.  There is a Frank Lloyd Wright house near here that is so amazingly cool.  I have been meaning to take a photo of it.

Tonight I made vegan pizza with soy cheese and soy chorizo.  It may have been a bit of a soy overload, but it tasted great.  Let’s just say my boyfriend didn’t complain as he scarfed it down!

I’ll try and sew again tomorrow and fix the bunny problem.  Adios.

Author: teddybearrepublic Jenny Smith

My name is Jenny Smith and I am a Teddy Bear Artist. I have a need to be creative many hours per day. I am currently living in West Hollywood and my Canadian blood is enjoying the sunny warmth of Southern California. When I am not sewing and creating, you can find me, running, working out, writing, drawing, reading, gardening and attending the occasional flea market.

2 thoughts on “Joy and Pain

  1. I love your blog & the photos that you post. I think the bunny is turning out great =:-)

  2. mmm. that pizza looks great! I like the bunny, he looks like he wants a big hug.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.